Banana and caramel cheesecake

Well my plan to eat healthily didn’t last for very long…especially after I noticed I had some over ripe bananas and lots of cream cheese that needed using up. I scoured the internet for recipes and didn’t find anything I fancied, until I remembered a dessert I used to eat out at an Italian restaurant that was a vanilla cheesecake with a layer of banana and caramel in the bottom. Well, I couldn’t find a recipe for anything like this on-line, so took some rough quantities from this recipe and decided to adapt it to how I remembered the dessert but with a banana cheesecake on the top as well instead of vanilla.

It was delicious with a lovely strong taste of banana! At first I thought the bowls I had used were slightly too big, but they were emptied by everyone in one sitting. The cheesecake was firm yet nice and light, and two layers of caramel did not overpower the banana in the cheesecake at all.

Base:

  • 90g Digestive biscuits (crumbled)
  • 40g Butter (melted)

Caramel layer:

  • 180g Caramel (I used half a tin of carnation caramel)
  • 1 Banana (sliced)

Cheese cake topping:

  • 90g Banana (mashed)
  • 150g Full fat cream cheese
  • 100ml Double cream
  • 40g Caster sugar

Makes enough to fill 3 200ml bowls

  1. Mix together the crumbled biscuits and melted butter and firmly press into the dishes. This should then be chilled for 20-30 minutes.
  2. Spoon a layer of caramel on to the biscuit base and top with a layer of sliced banana, the banana can then be topped with more caramel (if you love caramel as much as the people I made this for do). This can be chilled further while you make the cheesecake topping.
  3. Combine all of the cheesecake ingredients and mix using an electric whisk until it looks smooth and glossy, then test the mixture to check the taste, it may need slightly more cream cheese or sugar depending on how you prefer it.
  4. The topping then needs spreading evenly over the banana/caramel. This needs chilling for at least 4 hours, although I always leave mine in the fridge for at least 24hours.


Leave a comment