Mini madelines

Well as much as I am enjoying getting back into baking, I am struggling to get creative. I find it too easy to slip in to a routine of baking certain tried and tested recipes that I know everyone likes. When actually I want to learn new baking skills and try new things.

So, on a quest to try new things I went to Lakeland to see if anything there could inspire me. I left with a mini madeline tray, okay so it’s not exactly learning new skills but at least they aren’t something I have made before.

When I looked for recipes I found there were actually large variations in the recipes and methods used to make Madelines. So, this is a bit of an amalgamation of different advice and recipes, but I mainly used the Joy of Baking and Waitrose websites.

Having never tried a madeline I expected it to just taste like plain sponge cake, but I was very pleasantly surprised. The cakes were lovely and light, and they tasted beautifully buttery and sweet. They disappeared very quickly after they had been baked, so I have no idea how well they would keep. But I imagine they would be fine for at least a couple of days if they were stored in an air tight container.

Ingredients:

  • 60g Melted unsalted butter
  • 50g Caster sugar
  • 50g Plain white flour
  • 1 Egg
  • 1tsp Vanilla sugar
  • Icing sugar to dust

Makes 25 mini madelines or 15 regular sized madelines.

Preheat the oven to 190°C.

Method:

  1. Whisk the egg and caster sugar until the mixture is very thick, this takes around 10 minutes.
  2. Sift the flour and vanilla sugar into the egg and sugar mixture, and carefully fold it in.
  3. Then fold in 50g of the butter, set aside the remaining 10g.
  4. Refrigerate the mixture for at least 30 minutes to allow it to become firm.
  5. While the mixture is being refrigerated brush the Madeline tray with the remaining 10g of melted butter and dust the tray with flour, tapping out any excess.
  6. Spoon the mixture into the tray, do not spread the mixture out into the mould otherwise the cakes are likely to become flat, rather than having their expected ‘humped’ look. If using a mini madeline tray its around half a teaspoon of mixture needed per mould.
  7. Bake these for around 7 minutes or until they are golden brown and the cake springs back when you touch it.
  8. Leave the cakes to cool for around 5 minutes then turn the tray upside down and tap it against the worktop. They should all easily fall out.
  9. When they are completely cooled lightly dust them with icing sugar, before you tuck in.

20120903-193703.jpg

Leave a Reply

